New show producer appointed for Eurovision 2017

SVT’s Christer Björkman has been named Show Producer of Eurovision 2017 after the unexpected personal change happened a few days ago. Mr. Björkman joins the new core team, made up of Larysa Koval (Commercial Director), Mr. Oleh Zapadniuk (Head of Security ) and Kyrylo Voronin (Event Manager), that will finally make this year’s competition a reality.

«I’m thrilled to be back, working on what is surely the world’s premier music event. I look forward to collaborating with the wonderful team at UA:PBC and I’m sure together we will produce the best contest yet!», Mr. Björkman said after this appointment.

The Swedish producer is not a stranger in the Eurovision panorama, as he has been connected with the competition for more than 20 years. His Eurovision career started in 1992, when he won Melodifestivalen and consequently represented Sweden at Eurovision. Ten years later, he was named Melodifestivalen Supervisor, turning the show into the most followed Eurovision national selection every year. Not only has he a deep knowledge at Melodifestivalen, but he also owns a broad experience at Eurovision, as he has already produced the contest in 2013 and 2016. A few weeks ago, Björkman announced retirement plans as Executive Supervisor of Melodifestivalen for 2021 so, will he be the successor to current Eurovision Executive Supervisor Jon Ola Sand?

«It is pleasing to see these positive steps being taken in the staffing of the core team for this year’s Eurovision Song Contest. For example, the appointment of Christer Björkman adds to what is already an excellent production team, and his experience producing the Eurovision Song Contest over several years will be invaluable. Now, with many key positions filled, it is important that the EBU and UA:PBC continue to implement the plans already agreed, and work to the timeline and milestones that were established and approved by the Reference Group to ensure a successful Contest in May.», said Jon Ola Sand.

The Eurovision Song Contest 2017 is set to take place on May 9, 11 and 13 in Kyiv, the capital of Ukraine.