Malta confirms participation for Junior Eurovision 2017, PBS to select behind closed doors

The host country of Junior Eurovision 2014 and 2016 has launched the selection procedure through which they will select the artist that will perform at this year’s competition. All interested Maltese young stars aged 9-14 are invited to send their applications, according to the rules of the broadcaster, on the 21st of April from 09:00 to 16:00 at PBS Creativity Hub in Guardamangia.

This year PBS have made big changes in their national selection, called MJESC:

  • Candidates must submit audio covers under a payment of a 50 euros fee.
  • Several experts will shortlist 10 singers that will be invited to perform live in front of a jury panel.
  • This year there will not be a live show as the Maltese representative will be selected behind closed doors by the mentioned expert panel.
  • PBS will be responsible for deciding the song the winner will perform at Junior Eurovision.

The dates for MJESC 2017 are as it follows:

  • 24th March 2017 Publishing of Application Form/Regulations
  • 21st April 2017 Submission Date
  • 20th May 2017 Announcement of 10 Finalists
  • 10th June 2017 Live Performance in front of Jury
  • 12th June 2017 Announcement of Winner

You can find the full set of rules and application form below:

Six countries have clearly confirmed participation at Junior Eurovision 2017 with the Cypriot participation still uncertain, as they released a statement before the 2016 competition.

  1. Russia
  2. Belarus
  3. Ireland
  4. The Netherlands
  5. Georgia
  6. Malta
  7. (Cyprus)

Georgia will be hosting Junior Eurovision for the first time this year after having won the contest three times, a record number. Last year, the competition was won by Mariam Mamadashvili with the song Mzeo giving her country the chance to host the event, while Malta reached a 6th place with Christina Magrin and her song «Parachute».