Iceland selects for Eurovision today

Iceland is one of the last countries selecting representative for this year’s Eurovision. RUV will held today the final of their very own Söngvakeppnin live from Laugardalshöllin, national indoor arena. Seven acts are still in the race to represent the northern country in Kyiv, but only one of them will follow Greta Salóme‘s footsteps on the big stage.

Today all candidates will perform the version of their song they want to sing at Eurovision. Six contenders have chosen the English version, while Hildur will sing her song in a mix of Icelandic and English. You can find the running order for the show below:

  1. Aron Hannes Emilsson – Tonight
  2. Arnar Jónsson & Rakel Pálsdóttir  – Again
  3. Aron Brink – Hypnotised
  4. Hildur – Bammbaramm
  5. Rúnar Eff Rúnarsson – Make your way back home
  6. Svala – Paper
  7. Daði Freyr Pétursson – Is this love?

The winner and Icelandic hope for Eurovision 2017 will be decided by a mix of public vote and professional expert panel after two voting rounds. This year, however, the jury panel will be made up of seven members from five countries, four judges from abroad and three local ones. The international judges will be Måns Zelmerlöw (Sweden), Julia Zemiro (Australia), Bruno Berberes (France), Milica Fajgelj (Serbia) and Snorri Helgason (Iceland). This is the first time RUV features international judges at Söngvakeppnin.

In the first round, a 50/50 combination of SMS vote and jury panel outcome will decide two acts that will go through to the superfinal from which the overall winner will be selected by solely televote.

You can follow the final of Söngvakeppnin, hosted by Ragnhildur Steinunn, at 20.45 CET here and on our LIVE Page.

Who do you want to win in Iceland? Let us know in comments!